Baltimore Ravens History

Baltimore Ravens History – Past to Present – 1996 to Now

Baltimore Ravens History

Baltimore Ravens, NFL franchise based in Maryland that plays in the AFC (NFL). The Ravens originally came to be in 1996 but won Super Bowls in 2001 and 2013.

Cleveland Browns owner Art Modell moved his team to Baltimore in 1996. Cleveland preserved the Browns’ name, history, and colors for a future replacement franchise, hence the newly renamed Ravens was technically an expansion team.

Ray Lewis, the franchise’s first draft pick, became one of the NFL’s most dominant players and helped build the Ravens’ reputation as a savage defensive club.

The Ravens won in 2000 after four losing seasons. The club won 12 games during the regular season and swept the AFC playoffs, allowing less than 6 points per game. In Super Bowl XXXV, the Ravens handily defeated the Giants, and Lewis was awarded MVP.

The Super Bowl-winning Ravens team also had Jonathan Ogden, Shannon Sharpe, and Rod Woodson. The Ravens qualified for the playoffs in six of the 10 seasons from 2001 to 2010, including a loss to the Steelers in the 2008 AFC championship game. Their defense was in the top five for total yardage allowed in six of those seasons.

In 2011, the Ravens earned a division title and reached another AFC championship game, losing to the Patriots. The next season, the Ravens beat the Patriots in a repeat of the AFC title game and won their second Super Bowl. The Ravens’ five-year postseason streak ended in 2013 when they went 8-8.

The next year, the club returned to the playoffs and stunned the Steelers before being defeated in the divisional round. Injury-plagued Ravens finished 2015 with a 5–11 record. In 2016, the Ravens went 8–8 and missed a division title. After winning a division in 2018, the squad returned to the playoffs. The Ravens set an NFL record with 3,296 running yards and went 14-2 in 2019 behind second-year quarterback Lamar Jackson. Baltimore lost its playoff opener to the 9–7 Tennessee Titans.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button