NFL News

Predicting the 2023 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class

The Pro Football Hall of Fame will enshrine its newest group of legends on Aug. 6, but it surely’s by no means too early to look forward to subsequent 12 months’s class. Which gamers might be amongst the Hall of Fame choices in 2023?

Save your draft. Save your crew. Win cash.

On Saturday, security Leroy Butler, linebacker Sam Mills, defensive linemen Richard Seymour and Bryant Young, and offensive lineman Tony Boselli might be inducted into the Pro Football Hame of Fame. Which former NFL gamers will be a part of that illustrious group in 2023?

Joe Thomas

The shoo-in of all shoo-ins, Joe Thomas was the finest offensive deal with of his era and one of the finest OTs in NFL historical past. He earned a Pro Bowl nod in every of his first 10 seasons in the league, and he’s the solely offensive lineman to be chosen to 10 consecutive Pro Bowls. Thomas additionally acquired eight All-Pro nods (six first-team) and was a member of the NFL’s 2010s All-Decade Team.

An absolute iron man, Thomas’ streak of 10,363 consecutive snaps is the longest run in the NFL since the league began monitoring snap counts in 1999. Unfortunately, the Browns hardly skilled any crew success throughout Thomas’ tenure (2007-17). During his profession, Cleveland had only one successful season, by no means made the playoffs, and posted a 48-128 file.

Darrelle Revis

Selected 11 picks after Thomas in the 2007 NFL Draft, Darrelle Revis can be on the 2010s All-Decade Team. “Revis Island” turned a spot the place no opposing broad receiver needed to get stranded as the former Pitt Panther shut down passing assaults en path to seven Pro Bowls.

Revis by no means posted gaudy interception totals, however that was as a result of quarterbacks had been afraid to throw at him. Throughout his profession with the Jets, Buccaneers, Patriots, and Chiefs, Revis was named a first-team All-Pro 4 instances. A Super Bowl champion with New England, Revis’ finest season was in all probability 2009, when he completed second in Defensive Player of the Year voting.

Steve Smith

Steve Smith spent an astounding 16 seasons in the NFL and was productive all the approach to the finish, posting 70 receptions for 799 yards and 5 touchdowns in his last marketing campaign (2016). He spent the first 13 years of his profession with the Panthers earlier than becoming a member of the Ravens in 2014.

Smith is presently eighth on the NFL’s all-time receiving yardage list (14,731), and each participant above him is already in the Hall of Fame (besides Larry Fitzgerald, who might be a first-ballot HOFer when eligible).

At 5’9″, 195 kilos, Smith introduced a tenacity to the subject that may’t be quantified, and he additionally gained the receiving triple crown in 205 after placing up a 105-1,563-12 line.

DeMarcus Ware

After being snubbed in 2022, DeMarcus Ware ought to enter the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2023. His 138 1/2 sacks are ninth all-time on the NFL’s official checklist, and he led the league in sacks twice (2008 and 2010). A four-time first-team All-Pro and nine-time Pro Bowler, Ware was named to the NFL’s 2000s All-Decade Team.

Ware, who spent 9 seasons in Dallas to start his profession, would be a part of an illustrious checklist of Dallas Cowboys in the Hall of Fame, together with Roger Staubach, Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith, and Michael Irvin. While he by no means gained a Super Bowl with the Cowboys, Ware did choose up a hoop with the Denver Broncos after the 2015 season.

Torry Holt

Like Ware, Torry Holt was snubbed by the Hall of Fame this 12 months however ought to have an excellent probability at enshrinement in 2023. Every different member of the Rams’ electrical early-2000s offense is already in the HOF, so it solely is sensible that Holt will be a part of Kurt Warner, Marshall Faulk, Isaac Bruce, and Orland Pace in the Hall.

A member of the NFL’s 2000s All-Decade Team, Holt earned seven Pro Bowl nods and a Super Bowl ring throughout his 11-year profession. He’s presently sixteenth all-time in receiving yardage, and he posted eight consecutive seasons with a minimum of 1,110 yards. Holt led the NFL in receiving yards in each 2000 and 2003.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button